Google+ Followers

Thursday, October 4, 2012


Stoke's Ryan Shawcross and Tottenham's Aaron Lennon have been recalled to the England squad for the World Cup qualifiers against San Marino and Poland in October.
Uncapped centre-back Shawcross fills the space vacated by John Terry, who has retired from the national side.
Winger Lennon returns after a two-year absence.
Celtic goalkeeper Fraser Forster, 24, is called up for the first time, while Wayne Rooney returns.
Bhoys manager Neil Lennon congratulated Forster, on Twitter.
"Well done Fraser Forster its fantastic recognition for him and Celtic....he thoroughly deserves this," he tweeted.
Coach Roy Hodgson has opted against recalling 33-year-old Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand, who has not played for England since 2011.
Manchester United striker Rooney missed the victories over Moldova and Ukraine in the first two qualifiers due to a leg injury sustained against Fulham.
Shawcross, who turned 25 on Thursday, was named in former coach Fabio Capello's squad for the friendly against Egypt in March 2010, when he was an unused substitute.
He turned down the opportunity to play for Wales last month, having qualified through five years' compulsory education in the country.
Arsenal left-back Kieran Gibbs, who has impressed in the opening month of the season, replaces Chelsea's Ryan Bertrand.
Birmingham's Jack Butland, who was part of England's Euro 2012 squad, has been released to the Under-21s for their European Championship play-off with Serbia.
England's senior team play San Marino at Wembley on Friday, October 12 and face Poland in Warsaw on Tuesday, October 16.
England squad
Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Joe Hart (Manchester City), John Ruddy (Norwich)
Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Kieran Gibbs (Arsenal), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Joleon Lescott (Manchester City), Ryan Shawcross (Stoke), Kyle Walker (Tottenham)
Midfielders: Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Adam Johnson (Sunderland), Aaron Lennon (Tottenham), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Theo Walcott (Arsenal)
Forwards: Andy Carroll (West Ham), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)

No comments:

Post a Comment